Officially launched in 2004 with the release of their first demo-song ‘The Stream’ and their severely limited edition demo, The Oath (2005), the following year, Ahab have slowly but surely clawed their way from the depths of obscurity to a level of fan loyalty that many detractors of the doom genre figured was reserved for the well worn favourites of the doom scene. Ahab’s progress has been characteristically – some might say appropriately – slow, but since the release of their first official full length album The Call Of The Wretched Sea in 2006, they have succeeded in retaining the interest of an extremely fickle music world and anchoring their own unique identity in the public eye with three more alben: The Divinity Of Oceans, The Giant and The Boats Of The Glen Carrig. Now it’s been five years, since their last album and over 15 years since the birth of AHAB. It’s about time for these four guys to write some new music. When will they finally finish writing?

Well, you never know when the band’s motto is: LIVE SLOW, DIE OLD! But there are rumours …

AHAB are:
Cornelius Althammer – drums & percussion
Daniel Droste – vocals & guitar
Christian Hector – guitar
Stephan Wandernoth – bass

Nautik Doom Newsletter